Texture

I’ve always liked a website with really cool texture to it. It adds depth and makes the site feel less mechanical and flat. I found an incredibly in-depth article from Smashing Magazine called “The Whys and Hows of Textures in Web Design.” It talked about the difference between texture and patterns, and the benefits and pitfalls of using texture on websites. First, patterns are usually small, repeated designs arranged in a certain way. Texture is often larger and less organized. Texture can be used to highlight a certain part of a website (like a logo) or move the user’s eye through the page. The author warns designers to be wary if the texture on the website makes the text illegible. Before the designer uses texture, think about the effect it’s going to have on the website. Also, don’t use texture if it proves to be a distraction to the message of the page; texture should always enhance the website’s message. The example I found for True Tea uses texture on their website in the form of a sketchbook, giving it a natural, organic air.

website 4.PNG

When I use texture on my website, it’s usually in the form of header images of some textured item. I designed an infographic for my internship last spring with the background texture of wood. Since it was a solar energy company, my goal was to give the infographic a natural feel to it. I believe that background texture helped me deliver my message with more conviction.

Sources: https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2011/10/whys-hows-textures-web-design/

Leave a Reply

