Bad Design

I decided to research what I should steer clear of when designing a website, and the examples were pretty hilarious. Some of the websites look like they haven’t been updated since the 1990s. First, the author of the 85 Ideas article recommended ensuring that the website adjusts to different screen sizes. If the website can’t load properly on my cellphone, I’m immediately leaving the website. It also recommended easy, clear navigation. When I redesigned a website for a brewery last year for a class project, I remember thinking how bad the navigation was. The designer of the website used insider terms that I wasn’t familiar with. I thought it limited the audience of the website, because what if someone who was new to craft beer was on the website, got frustrated when they couldn’t decipher the navigation’s terms used, then left. When I redesigned it, I used more general, universal terms in the navigation that I believe cleared up confusion. The article recommended that the user should be able to get to any part of the website in under three clicks. My biggest pet peeve is when a website uses sound. I am immediately turned off from the website and want to leave. Sound on websites is an unnecessary distraction. Another pet peeve of mine is when the background color for the website is similar to the color of the text. It makes it hard to read, and makes the user lose the patience to read it. Here’s an example of one of the worst websites I’ve ever seen. I don’t even know what the product is they’re advertising! There are too many colors, the text gives me a headache, and I don’t understand the background image at all.

website 10.PNG

Sources: https://85ideas.com/blog/examples-of-bad-web-design/

Leave a Reply

