How to Design an Infographic

Infographics and writing go together better than peanut butter and jelly. It’s scientifically proven that people retain visual information more than written information, because humans are largely visual creatures. On Canva.com’s website, I found an article that explained the steps to designing a fantastic infographic. Once research is gathered, the next step is to create a wireframe. You can create a wireframe online, but I prefer the old fashioned way of pen and paper. Keep in mind that certain ways to display information (for example, pie charts, graphs, maps, etc.) are more appropriate for your data than others. One thing I found interesting about this article was the importance of ensuring the infographic tells a story. I never thought about it that way, but now that I think about it, the best infographics I’ve seen are specific and tell a story that moves across the page. There’s hierarchy to the page, with differentiating levels of importance attached to the information. It’s also important to think about the tone of the infographic, and the colors used. I find contrasting colors work splendidly when I’m trying to highlight the differences in data. The most important part of designing infographics I’ve learned is to keep it simple, and have as little text on the infographic as possible. Canva.com is my go-to for designing infographics, but recently, I’ve wanted to branch out more. At my last internship, I learned that companies are uneasy about using a third party website to create data visuals, and would rather design them on a purchased program. I’m learning InDesign and Photoshop to help me create infographics, and expand my digital literacy skill sets.

canva.png

Sources: https://designschool.canva.com/blog/create-infographics/

Leave a Reply

