How to Make it as a Web Designer

While browsing Visual Swirl, I found an article describing how to gain credibility as a web designer. I was immediately interested, because I want to incorporate some form of web design and technical writing into my future career. Web designers have to prove that they’re professional and competent. The first bit of advice the author offered was to actually gain portfolio pieces by designing websites. It seemed like a no-brainer to me. I’ve taken several web design classes at JMU, which prepared me for my internships in which web design was a necessary skill. I’ve redesigned websites for Devils Backbone Brewery, YWCA of Richmond, Shenandoah National Park, and the SCC either through classes or my internships. Another way to gain credibility is to have a digital portfolio listing the projects you’ve completed. This is also a good suggestion. I created my first digital portfolio when I was a sophomore in my Digital Communication class, and have consistently updated it since then. I’m enrolled in my WRTC capstone right now, and we have to culminate all of our portfolio pieces into a digital portfolio. The author also suggests that hopeful web designers create a professional social media page to advertise services and showcase previous work. One thing the website doesn’t mention that I think is important also is networking and attending web design workshops. The goal is to get your name out there, and what better way than to meet new people and sharpen your skill arsenal?

making_website.jpg

 

Sources: http://www.visualswirl.com/articles/how-to-build-web-cred-as-a-designer/

Leave a Reply

