Writing on the Web

I found a very interesting article from usability.gov about tips for writing on the web. Writing on the web is different than writing for print. When people read text off a website, they usually scan it. Users typically only read 20% of the words in a block of text on a website. Although the reader doesn’t necessarily read the entirety of the text, it’s no excuse for bad grammar. As I learned in my Professional Editing class, use the active voice and parallel structure. Ensure that the writing is clear and users can easily find the information they’re looking for. Once again, knowing your audience is critical in this situation. If the author knows his or her audience, then she can better tailor the text and use words that the audience uses. When I’m scanning a website, I appreciate when the writing is organized into blocks of text because it makes it easier to find the information I’m looking for. The most interesting segment of this article from usability.gov was that I should strive for no more than 20 words per sentence. Also, there should only be a maximum of five sentences per paragraph. While text is obviously a large part of writing on the web, I’m a visual learner so I always include infographics and visuals to convey additional information. My go-to graphic design website is Canva.com. I use it to design anything from posters to infographics. It has proven to be incredibly helpful in my internships when I was asked to design material for the company.

download.jpg

 

Sources: https://www.usability.gov/how-to-and-tools/methods/writing-for-the-web.html

Leave a Reply

