HTML5

I’m a complete beginner when it comes to HTML5. I’ve heard the term tossed around in my classes, and I knew it had to do with computer coding and was often associated with CSS, but that’s about it. When I signed up to learn HTML5, I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I know it will be helpful for my future career, and look impressive on a resume, so it’s worth learning. Learning HTML5 provides a solid base for me, because I know how rapidly computers and technology change. I found a makeuseof.com article about the basic rundown of HTML5, and it was very insightful. HTML stands for Hyper Text Markup Language, and it’s evolved from HTML1 in the 1990s all the way to HTML5 today. Something new I learned is that HTML doesn’t support videos, so web designers have to use plugins to add videos to their websites. This leads to a less than standard approach to computer coding. The article described a few differences between HTML4 and HTML5, like less dependence on plugins and scripting being replaced with markup. But what the heck is scripting and markup? An article from werockyourweb.com says that markup language is the basic code that forms the structure of every website, and scripting languages control functions on a website. So, this means the computer people of the world want to gradually stop giving code that controls only a single function, and instead smooth out the wrinkles in a single function with markup. One thing I’ve learned while learning HTML5 is the details matter. If only a single markup tag is off, it can throw off the whole code.

software-computer-code-1940x900_35196.jpg

Sources: http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/what-is-html5-and-how-does-it-change-the-way-i-browse-makeuseof-explains/

http://www.werockyourweb.com/forums/topic/the-difference-between-programming-and-scripting-languages/

Leave a Reply

