Responsive Web Design

I found a great article from TreeHouse.com about responsive web design and its shift from an optional practice to standard practice today. I thought at first responsive web design was making sure the website was adaptable to solely mobile and tablets, but now I know it means that it’s just the ability for a website to adapt to the current screen size, no matter the device. Something interesting I learned in this article was the idea of fluid grids, or proportionally laying out a website. It used to be laid out in pixels, but that’s changed. But how do I know what proportions I should have for each page? Tree House says to divide the target element by its context. The article also discusses CSS3 media queries. I had no idea what that was prior to reading this article. Apparently, all it is a way for web designers to gather information about the website visitors and uses it to conditionally apply CSS styles. Since I mostly use WordPress, Wix, and Weebly to make websites, I wanted to see if they allow me to see what the website looks like on a cell phone and a tablet. As it turns out, web designers are able to view mobile and tablets view of a website for Wix, Weebly, and WordPress. Whenever I design a website, I never really think about mobile versions of websites, because Wix, Weebly, and WordPress automatically change the proportions of the website. Now that I’m able to design and code my own websites, this is something I’ll have to be more conscious about responsive web design.

Source: http://blog.teamtreehouse.com/beginners-guide-to-responsive-web-design

Leave a Reply

