What is a Web Hosting Provider?

Before this semester, I always thought the only way to get a website on the internet is through a content management platform like Wix and Weebly. Dr. Crow told our class about web hosting services, and I wanted to find out more about what this was. Website.com provides a straightforward definition for web hosting: “a web host provides the services and technology needed for your website to be seen on the internet.” I thought that was all fine and dandy, but what’s the catch? Upon further digging, I found that the user must own his or her own domain name to be hosted on a website. So, hypothetically, since I bought the domain name for my digital portfolio I made on Wix, I could host it on another web hosting site, such as DreamHost. Upon further review, I’ve discovered that, “Your Wix site and all of its content is hosted exclusively on Wix’s servers, and cannot be transferred elsewhere.” I may have to reconsider using Wix if I want my end product to be hosted on another server. Discovering that I can host these websites that I build on various servers opens up a whole new world for me in terms of customization and personalization of my websites.

Source: https://www.website.com/beginnerguide/webhosting/6/1/what-is-web-hosting?.ws, https://support.wix.com/en/article/exporting-or-embedding-your-wix-site-elsewhere

Leave a Reply

