What is jQuery?

What is jQuery? I’ve heard the term tossed around, but never knew what it meant. jQuery is “a fast and concise JavaScript library that simplifies HTML document traversing, event handling, animating, and Ajax interactions for rapid web development.” But is it like JavaScript and HTML/CSS in that it’s also a computer programing language? No, it’s not. It allows the coder to write less code, but still do more. Honestly, if this jQuery chalks up to the big game it’s talking, I might have to look more into this. I mean, as the saying goes, work smart, not hard. JQuery is very compact JavaScript code. JQuerey helps with UI (user-interface) functionality, which means it’s a smoother, more pleasant experience for the user. One of the things I find to be most attractive about jQuery is that the coder can easily move through the DOM (document object model). I always wondered what the DOM was, especially since I’ve heard the term pop up a lot when I use Dreamweaver. I can easily search through the code, since, there’s not much of it thanks to jQuery (another big plus for me).

Source: https://code.tutsplus.com/tutorials/what-is-jquery–cms-26232, https://www.codeproject.com/Articles/157446/What-is-jQuery-and-How-to-Start-using-jQuery

Leave a Reply

