What’s the Difference Between Java and JavaScript?

I’m just learning so much today. I didn’t know Java existed, and if I did, I would’ve thought Java was just short for JavaScript. Rookie mistake. Segue Technologies’ website makes a funny comparison, that “Java is to JavaScript as ham is to hamster.” I got the message. Java is an Object Oriented Programming (OOP) language. This means that this computer programing language is organized around objects and data, not logic and actions. The biggest difference that htmlgoodies.com mentions is that Java does not need an HTML document to function, while JavaScript has to be placed inside an HTML document to function. This makes sense, because I put the JavaScript video element into my HTML code in Dreamweaver. Another big difference between Java and JavaScript is that once code is written for Java, the coder has to send the text to another machine that translates the code into a smaller language meant for the web. What this means for me, is that JavaScript is more like what I already know (HTML/CSS and Bootstrap), and Java is, in a way, its own animal. I think it could be a fun challenge, to learn Java.

Source: http://www.htmlgoodies.com/beyond/javascript/article.php/3470971, http://www.seguetech.com/java-vs-javascript-difference/

Leave a Reply

