SIM Cards

The only time I really concern myself with my phone’s SIM card is (a) when I need to buy a new phone, and transfer my files over to the new phone from the old phone, or (b) when I need to transfer my phone files to my computer and the files are located on my SIM card. The SIM card stands for “Subscriber Identity Module,” and is the little piece of plastic that you can pop out the side of your phone. The SIM card serves as sort of a middleman between your phone’s data and your carrier’s cell towers. Technically speaking, a SIM card is, “a small circuit board in most modern phones to communicate with your carrier.” SIM cards makes transferring data easy, but they only fit in certain models of certain phones. I guess this is where Cloud-based data transfer comes in handy. Maybe this is one of the reasons Cloud-based data storage has really taken off recently. On the SIM card is an international identification number, ICC-ID (Integrated Circuit Card Identifier) and IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity). These two numbers communicate to your carrier that this phone is authorized to operate on its network, and to properly bill the phone for all services subscribed for. SIM cards are hella small, and today the standard design for one is a nanoSIM card. Over the years, it’s gotten 42 times smaller. I’ll continue this post in part two.

Source: http://www.imore.com/what-is-sim-card

Leave a Reply

