Wireless Chargers

This past Christmas, I was given a wireless charger for my new phone. Although I was fascinated by it, I never really knew how it worked. All I cared about was that I was able to pop my phone into the dock, see the blue light flash, and watch my battery life increase. Although this seems like something new, it isn’t. In the late 1880s, Nikola Tesla was allegedly able to power light bulbs with no wires, and in the process transmit electricity wirelessly. Wireless chargers work by wrapping a coil of wire around a battery or magnet, which spins and creates electricity. This process is called flux. The battery creates a stable electromagnet because it’s a direct current (it’s moving in only one direction). When you plug a charger into the wall, this becomes alternating currents. The flux from the alternating current interacts with the flux from the direct current, and therefore can charge the battery. So why aren’t these wireless chargers more common then? The problem is efficiency. Much power is wasted trying to fill up the two coils and letting them talk to one another. I’m glad I was able to find out how something I use every day works, because it makes me marvel at the genius of its creation.

 

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qr63Kl0SuFo

Leave a Reply

